Pilot Magazine UKGA

About You

Flight planning

Flight planning New flightplan NOTAM map LARS map & NOTAMs Danger area, mil. & TRA activations Weather map GPS route download Find waypoints Your waypoints New waypoint

Forums

Forums Currently discussing "GP LAPL medical via CAA/Cellma"

History

Spatial Disorioentation

Other items

Articles Events Links News Surveys Tips Other users Feedback UKGA membership About UKGA

Forums > General Aviation

See more discussions in the General Aviation topic
Start a new discussion in the General Aviation topic

Discussion: "Spatial Disorioentation"

1. Wed 13 Jan Joseph Goodfellow - Galway
Hi, I am a retired mechanical Engineer based in Galway, Ireland. Held a PPL since late seventies. With the advent of TAA "glass cockpit" aircraft, is pilot spatial disorientation still the insidious killer? Around fifteen years ago, I designed and reduced to practice a device that could prevent a pilot becoming disorientated in IMC, or help him/her regain control during disorientation. I didn't pursue the development of the device as I presumed the avionics technology advancement at the time would resolve the problem. What I am really asking is, has SD ever been successfully solved? Thanks, joe
Login to say you like this
2. Thu 14 Jan Edward Hawkins - Humberside
To the best of my knowledge, the advice for avoiding and recovering from spatial disorientation remains the same as it always been: “Trust the instruments”
3. Thu 14 Jan Edward Hawkins - Humberside
I believe that recovery from unusual attitudes in IMC conditions should be moved from the IMC rating to the PPL course.
4. Thu 14 Jan Joseph Goodfellow - Galway